Undo Send with Outlook On The Web in Office 365

By | February 15, 2017

We all have come across in situations where we accidentally hit on send button before finish composing the email. Or sent an email to people who you shouldn’t have sent it to. These are times we wish if we could undo that action. This is an option that is available with Google’s Google Apps for Work and free Gmail for some time now but none of Microsoft’s free Outlook.com service nor Exchange Online in Office 365 had the feature. Yes, if you were using Outlook application, you could recall the message, but we all know that it’s not reliable always.

Recently Microsoft introduced undo send feature across Outlook.com and Exchange Online in Office 365 services. What this basically does is, when you compose an email and hit send, it delays the send action by a pre-defined time (max 30 seconds) giving you ample time to cancel the action and return to edit the email.

In this article, I will focus on how to turn on this feature in Exchange Online in Office 365 but the process is same for Outlook.com as well if you’re looking to enable that there too.

  1. To turn on “Undo Send” feature, log in to Office 365 portal on the web.
  2. Click on the gear icon next on the right hand top.

    Office 365 Settings

    Office 365 Settings

  3. Select Mail from Your app settings.

    Select Mail from Your app settings

    Select Mail from Your app settings

  4. From Options list on the left of the screen, under Mail select Undo send.

    Select Undo send

    Select Undo send

  5. On the right hand side will open settings for Undo send. Select Let me cancel messages I’ve sent for:

    Select Let me cancel messages I've sent for:

    Select Let me cancel messages I’ve sent for:


  6. You can select from 5 second, 10 seconds, 15 seconds and 30 seconds.

    Select Undo Send delay

    Select Undo Send delay

  7. Save your selection.

Once you’ve set your Undo send options, next time when you send an email from Outlook on the web, you’ll see following count down at the right hand top with the undo button. Clicking on the Undo will cancel the sending process and let you edit the email again.

Countdown to Undo

Countdown to Undo

Leave a Reply